Welcome to JPiC Forum For Writers! Please log in or sign up to interact with our Community.
  1. Welcome!

Hello Guest | Welcome To Jacquii's Poetry in Color Forum

JPiC Forum for Writers is an online community exclusively dedicated to the share of poetry and writing. As a continuing work-in-progress, our poetry forums host a melange of writing with new additions being posted daily. We encourage you to right now and come join us in our celebration of diversity with the typed word!

1. ChrisA Guest

Message Count:
    Home page:
    Books:
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0 / -0

Things happen to me and my head is full of reasons why they happen. I seem to have my own mythology about myself and my world. As a writer, my chosen artistic medium is the story. The story is a medium as fluid and flexible as any other medium. It begs to be manipulated and explored from the inside. One year ago, when I set out to write a fictional history of my family’s past, I was not aware of the full magnitude of the powers of creativity. Forging the conscience of your family is an intense practice in self re-creation. I can feel the tight weave of the past loosening up with almost every line I write. As I manipulate characters and scenes, the movement of blood in my veins gets released.

Conscious, then, of storytelling as an art, I’ve also begun to think about the little stories that go on in the recesses of my mind everyday. I talk to myself on a subconscious level. We all do, it seems. What am I telling myself?

The stories I tell myself seem to validate a pre-existent reality that I am observing and have been observing all my life. While the number of ways in which I interpret the events in my life is more or less infinite, conflict stems from a certain inevitable stubbornness of mine to cling to only one or two possible explanations of any given event.